Interview with author, Susan May Warren

About Susan May Warren:  Susan May Warren is the RITA award-winning author of twenty-four novels with Tyndale, Barbour and Steeple Hill.  A four-time Christy award finalist, a two-time RITA Finalist, she’s also a multi-winner of the Inspirational Readers Choice award, and the ACFW Book of the Year.

Susan’s larger than life characters and layered plots have won her acclaim with readers and reviewers alike.  A seasoned women’s events and retreats speaker, she’s a popular writing teacher at conferences around the nation and the author of the beginning writer’s workbook: From the Inside-Out: discover, create and publish the novel in you!. She is also the founder of http://www.MyBookTherapy.com, a story-crafting service that helps authors discover their voice.

Susan makes her home in northern Minnesota, where she is busy cheering on her two sons in football, and her daughter in local theater productions (and desperately missing her college-age son!)  A full listing of her titles, reviews and awards can be found at: www.susanmaywarren.com.

It is my pleasure to welcome author, Susan May Warren today!

What was the inspiration behind this book? Originally, I conceived this idea as a Daniel story – what if a good man was caught in the wrong place, and behind enemy lines?  What would he do?  I
then flipped it over and thought – well, how could I make that man “good” yet seem like he’s wrong?  About that time I came across an article about a POW camp in Wisconsin in WW2, and the story took off from there.  

What do you hope this book accomplishes?

The heroine of the story – Esther – is a woman who is branded by her mistake.  I wanted to set her free – and I hope others who are caught by their mistakes and the feeling they can’t escape might also be set free. 

Who is this book written for?

Everyone. J  But people who love WW2 might love it, as well as those who like stories written in letters (as
this partially is). Also, those who love a great romance….

 Do you have a “life verse” that you have claimed?  If so, what is it and why is that verse so meaningful to you? I have many, but my current one is Romans 15:13: 13 “May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace as you trust in him, so that you may overflow with hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.” I love it because it reminds me that my job is to trust him – and by doing that I will overflow with hope, and be filled with joy and peace.  What a great promise! 

Who (or what) is your greatest encourager when you write and why? 

My best friend Rachel Hauck. We pray together in the mornings before we start our writing day, and we know each other’s stories so well we can practically write them. I have found her input essential for the writing process. (and my life! J) 

Is there anything else that you would like your readers to know about you that would give us even more of a glimpse into your personality and passions?

I love to write, but even more than that, I love to enjoy my friendships. I’m very grateful for this life God has given me and my hope is to live it for His glory.  Thanks for having me today and for featuring Nightingale!

It was great to get to know you better, Susan!

About Nightingale:  Esther Lange doesn’t love her fiancé—she’s trapped in an engagement after a mistaken night of passion.  Still, she grieves him when he’s lost in battle, the letters sent to her by the medic at his side giving her a strange comfort, so much that she strikes up a correspondence with Peter Hess, an Iowa farmboy.  Or is he?  Peter Hess is not who he seems.  Indeed, he’s hiding a secret, something that could cost them both their lives, especially when the past comes back to life.  A bittersweet love song of the home front war between duty and the heart…a battle where only one will survive.

Don’t miss book 1 in this stand-alone collection, Sons of Thunder.

(A complimentary copy of this book was provided to me as a blog tour host: litfusegroup.com)

2 responses

  1. This holds promise to be a great read! Sigh, my “to be read” pile grows daily! I came from northern Minnesota–good people up there!

  2. Nightengale promises to be a good read–probably learn something as well! I came from northern Minnesota–good people up there!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,791 other followers

